#Recommended: Jennifer Paige

Originally published on So So Gay on 30 July 2014.

Shockingly, it’s been just over 16 years since Georgia-native Jennifer Paige first burst on to the music scene with her modern classic ‘Crush’. A few albums, EPs and collaborations later – including the brilliant Nick Carter duet, ‘Beautiful Lie’ – and today finds Jennifer adding a new string to her bow.

Called The Breakthrough Artist and making its debut next Tuesday, Jennifer will be hosting this brand new music-related podcast that will feature informal chats with artists, producers and songwriters, while also offering advice to striving artists and entertainment to music lovers and fans. However, before she becomes the one asking all the questions, we thought we’d pick Jennifer’s brain to find out about some of her favourite music.

For her #Recommended, Jennifer told us the songs that make her…

Smile

Happy’ by Pharrell Williams, obvi.

Contemplate

Waiting On the World to Change’ by John Mayer. He’s such a smart writer with meaningful lyrics. Can’t help but listen up when he sings about passing the buck on positive change.

Dance

‘Counting Stars’ by OneRepublic. This song still makes me shake my booty.

Reminisce

Just a Girl’ by No Doubt. Gwen was my new hero in the 90s. I had just moved to the beach in California and I loved her girly, sassy, skater-girl vibe.

Chill

I mean, if you wanna chill, you better grab some vino and your old Sade vinyl. ‘No Ordinary Love’ is still my go-to slow jam.

Motivates You

Lose Yourself’ by Eminem holds the title for me.

Cry

I recently stumbled onto a song called ‘The Thief’ by Brooke Fraser, which made me a wee bit teary because I thought it was such a sweet love song.

Last Listened To

Imagine Dragons’ ‘Radioactive’ just popped up on my playlist and it stills sounds amazing. Currently banging my head to ‘Welcome to the new age, to the new age…’


The Breakthrough Artist podcast is available to download from iTunes.

Leave a Reply

