#MyInfluences: Jennifer Paige

Originally published on So So Gay on 20 August 2014.

It’s a busy time in Paigetown right now, as Jennifer is preoccupied with the launch of her brand new free music podcast, The Breakthrough Artist. So if you haven’t already, go hit that subscribe button in iTunes and show the ‘Crush’ singer’s new project some love. After recently telling us about the songs that she enjoys on a personal level, Jennifer Paige now gives us a little insight into the music that helped create the artist she is today.


Which song reminds you most of your childhood?

‘Strut’ by Sheena Easton. My older brother was in love with her, and I wanted to be her. My parents were slightly concerned when I only wanted to sing ‘Strut’, ‘Sugar Walls’ and Olivia Newton-John’s ‘Totally Hot’. My love for slutty songs apparently started early!

Which song inspired you to become a musician/singer?

Vision of Love’ by Mariah Carey was a biggie for me. I had already been singing for years but that song spoke to me and challenged me in a new way. I started singing it in local competitions in Georgia, and winning. It was my coming-of-age song as a singer.

Which song do you wish you had written?

‘Your Song’ by Elton John. What an incredible concept to write a song about writing a song! I can’t listen to it without wondering who it was written for, and the story behind it.

Which artist/band has been the most inspirational to you?

This is ever-changing. From Olivia Newton-John to Whitney, Mariah and Annie Lennox, Roxette, Celine, Aretha and Joni, Alanis, Sheryl Crow, Sara Bareilles and Ellie G…. the list goes on and on, and it’s filled with fabulous divas.

Which song/album currently dominates your attention?

I’m loving Erik Hassle’s EP, Somebody’s Party, especially the song ‘Talk About It’.

Which artist/band do you currently have a close eye on?

I’m currently listening to Phantogram – it’s good stuff. Interesting production with cool vocals. Reminds me of a modern day Olive.

Who would you most like to collaborate with?

Maybe Erik Hassle or Aloe Blacc – both brilliant singer-songwriters.


Jennifer’s new podcast, The Breakthrough Artist, is available to download from iTunes now.

Leave a Reply

